Several first-timers join Wright, Bay on ballot

Several first-timers join Wright, Bay on ballot

Several first-timers join Wright, Bay on ballot
The Mets will have an interesting cast of characters on the All-Star ballot.

David Wright and Jason Bay are the only former All-Stars on the ballot for New York. Fans will have a chance to start voting for their favorites on Friday, when online balloting will begin. Paper ballots will be available at games held at Citi Field from Tuesday to June 16.

Wright and Bay have combined for eight All-Star Game nods, but none of the team's other starters have been an All-Star before. First baseman Ike Davis and catcher Josh Thole are back on the ballot at the same positions as last year. Two homegrown players for the Mets, Ruben Tejada and Lucas Duda, are on the ballot for the first time.

Tejada has split time between second base and shortstop in the last two years, but now he's firmly entrenched at short after the offseason departure of Jose Reyes. Duda, a seventh-round Draft pick in 2007, is on the ballot in the outfield. Daniel Murphy is listed at second base, and Andres Torres -- currently sidelined by injury -- is on the ballot in the outfield.

Last year's All-Star voting set a record with 32.5 million ballots cast, and two Mets (Reyes and Carlos Beltran) made the National League squad. Starting Friday, fans can cast their votes for All-Star starters up to 25 times exclusively at and all 30 club sites, and more than 20 million paper ballots will be distributed at the 30 stadiums.

Wright went to five consecutive All-Star Games from 2006-10, and Bay has been an All-Star three times, but not since '09. Thole and Wright have both gotten off to sizzling starts for the Mets, as has rookie Kirk Nieuwenhuis in place of Torres in center field. Nieuwenhuis, who batted .375 in his first 11 games, is not on the All-Star ballot.

Spencer Fordin is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.