CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

Official ruling gives Wright another career hit

Official ruling gives Wright another career hit

ATLANTA -- David Wright's latest souvenir is not quite what he thought.

Major League Baseball made an official scoring change to last Wednesday's game against the Cardinals, ruling that Wright's bouncing ball in the eighth inning -- originally an error on Cards third baseman David Freese -- was in fact an infield single. That means that when Wright saved the ball from his 1,500th career hit Tuesday night in Atlanta, it was technically his 1,501st.

More

Wright, who also has the balls from his 500th and 1,000th career hit, eventually managed to recover the correct ball from his 1,500th hit, according to Mets PR man Jay Horwitz

Anthony DiComo is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @AnthonyDicomo. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Less
{}
{}